"Experience Required" - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-29-2014, 08:29 AM Thread Starter
SAS Member

"Experience Required"

This is my rant about trying to secure an entry level position in my field. I'm sure many of you recent graduates can relate!

I studied Animal Veterinary Science at a very competitive university. My parents agreed to split my loans 50/50 IF I finished in exactly 4 years, with no course repeats. It's widely known to be a 5-year degree, but I worked my butt off, took 21 + units, and took summer classes to finish exactly 4 years later.

Now I am finding this to be a poor decision, because I wasn't able to work a minimum wage starting position in my field while in school and build experience.

Nevermind that my classes were all hands-on.
Nevermind that I completed 3 internships in animal health & husbandry.
Nevermind that I have been volunteering with animal organizations for 7 years.

Because I don't have paid animal experience, I cannot secure a job in my field. Even becoming a kennel tech who gets paid $9.00/hour says "3+ years experience required".

Where do you get experience, if every level job requires experience???

What a stupid system. It just feeds companies to hire friends and family, because they put up these barriers to anyone new. I have a long collection of rejection letters for jobs that I fully qualify for, because I "lack experience".
Ex. The reptile zoo said that I didn't have enough experience with children.

...I've worked at Disneyland, at a therapeutic riding center, and on weekends I used to be a contracted children's party princess. I even told them that during the interview.

"Lack Experience" is clearly a cover up for "We hired someone's cousin/best friend/schoolmate instead".