Went to turn in resume. Ordered a bagel instead. - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-01-2013, 05:16 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Unhappy

Went to turn in resume. Ordered a bagel instead.

Today I told myself that I would hand-deliver my resume to a bunch of places that are hiring because applying online hasn't been working at all. So, I went downtown and scoped out all the places that had help wanted/hiring signs and one of them was a nice little bagel shop. As I got to the counter I was about to say I saw the help wanted sign but suddenly a customer came in right behind me. And I freaked and just ordered a bagel instead....ugh.... feeling so ashamed of myself... and I didn't make it to any of the other places because I felt so terrible afterwards. And the guy who took my order kept giving me strange looks after that.

Does anyone have any tips on delivering resumes or conducting a job search? This is my first time doing this sort of thing. Well, guess I'll try again soon.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-02-2013, 03:44 AM
SAS Member

Gets easier after the first one. The more you do it the easier it gets and the more confident you come across. Good luck.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-02-2013, 12:42 PM
Transformation Master

If there is a "Help Wanted" sign on places of business then they are expecting people to come in and ask about the job posting. Don't feel awkward or terrible asking the person at the counter about it. 9 times out of 10, the person at the front will grab the manager and they'll come out to speak with you regarding the job. Dress nice/professional and have lots of copies of your resume in a hard bound folder so they stay nice n' crisp.

You'll get the hang of it.

We are all made of... star dust. Exploded stars are everything that we see, hear and feel on a daily basis. The death of a massive object brought upon life and it is glorious.

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-02-2013, 09:24 PM